“Student Soup”

Student Soup

This is my Go-To easy soup recipe, for those days when it’s freezing and the fridge is running low. Every now and again I’ll whip up a big batch of it using whatever veggies we have, and freeze individual servings for emergency work lunches. I like to add some pre-cooked chicken to a defrosted serving, but it also works great as a vegetarian meal.

I’m pretty sure it’s similar to an Italian minestrone, and like minestrone there aren’t really any strict rules. Here I’ve given something more like advice than a recipe – play around with your own preferences to create your own new favourite Go-To.

• I’ll usually start by frying an onion and garlic in butter, then add vegetables like zucchini, capsicum and tomato, and/or frozen veggies like peas or beans.
• If I have bacon or pre-cooked chicken I’ll sometimes use that, but vegetarian is fine too.
• I then add a can of tomatoes (in whatever shape you like – diced, sieved, whole, whatever takes your fancy) and chickpeas.
• I also like to add unsalted cashews, peanuts or pine nuts if I have them.
• Flavour with salt & pepper or stock powder (chicken or green herb go well).
• Simmer for 5-10 minutes, then serve hot (with grated cheese on top if desired).

Goes well with a hot bread roll, toastie, or cheese puff!

Leave a Reply

